THE CATHOLIC CHURCH IN KAZAKHSTAN

The Catholic Church in Kazakhstan is a part of the worldwide Catholic Church, under the spiritual leadership of the Pope in Rome. The number of Catholics in the country counts, according to the Pontifical Yearbook 2016 Annuario Pontificio, about 108.500 thousand people, which is approximately 0.61 % of the total population. Except for the Latin-rite Catholics, Greek Catholic community resides in the country (consisting mainly of ethnic Ukrainians).

There are approximately 26% Christians (mainly Russian Orthodox) in Kazakhstan out of the population of 18 million. Most Catholics in the country are ethnic Poles, Germans and Lithuanians (also other ethnic nationalities are available, often mixed in internally, which is typical for Kazakhstan). Russian, Ukrainian, Korean and Kazakh, and representatives of other nationalities are also present among Catholics.

 

The population of Catholics decreased after the fall of communism as many German Catholics immigrated to Germany. Also Poles and other nationalities continue to repatriate.

 

The Catholic Church in the World

 

Catholicism is the largest, by number of devotees (about 1 billion 229 million people, as of the end of 2012), streamline in Christianity developed throughout I millennium AD in the territory of the Western Roman Empire.

It has mostly propagated in Europe (Spain, France, Italy, Portugal, Austria, Belgium, Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary), in Latin America and in the USA. To one extent or another, Catholicism is spread almost in all countries of the globe.

Most of Catholics worldwide belong to the Latin rite. Except, The Catholic Church involves Eastern Catholic Churches that have the status of Churches sui iuris. They belong to one of the five ritual traditions: Alexandrian, Antiochene, Byzantine, Chaldean, and Armenian (which welcome separate rites internally – totally about 20). These Churches have a special canon law, own hierarchic structure headed by the Patriarch or the Major Archbishop, however they stay in touch with the Pope and organizationally subordinate to him.

Catholic Church developed millennium AD in the territory of the Western Roman Empire and has played an important role in the Western civilization.

Spirituality and Culture in Catholicism

Catholicism has had a dominating influence on the Western civilization from the late antiquity till the beginning of the New Age. By virtue of support of the Catholic Church, Roman, Gothic, Renaissance, manneristic, and baroque styles developed in art, architecture, and music.

Many public figures of Renaissance, such as, for instance, Rafael Santi, Michelangelo, Leonardo Da Vinci, Sandro Botticelli, Fra Beato Angelico, Tintoretto, Tizian, Giotto have enjoyed support of the Catholic Church.

Dante Alighieri, Francesco Petrarca, Blaise Pascal, Paul Claudel, François Mauriac, Georges Bernanos, Gilbert Keith Chesterton are worth accentuating among those poets and writers associated to Catholicism.

Catholic philosophers and theologians like Thomas Aquinas, Meister Eckhart, John Scotus, William of Ockham, Bonaventure, Francisco Suárez, Edith Stein, Gabriel Marcel, Karol Wojtyła, Hans Urs von Balthasar, Karl Rahner, Joseph Ratzinger, and other had a great influence on the development of the Western civilization.

A great variety of spirituality patterns is typical for the Catholic Church. Choice of one or another depends on cultural and historical conditions and individual aptitudes of the faithful. Many of these spiritual patterns have been developed inside one or another institute of life dedicated to God and communities of apostolic life, as well as catholic campaigns.

Openness to the World after the Second Vatican Council

The last Council – the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965) – was not of a dogmatic but of a pastoral nature. After the Council Catholicism became open for other Christian confessions, especially for Orthodoxy, with which the dialogue is so called ecumenical. Officially an inter-confessional dialogue is open with traditional world religions like Judaism and Islam, as well as Buddhism, Hinduism and others.

The Catholic Church is open for science and social culture, for any inter-confessional and intercultural dialogue. It is especially necessary in Kazakhstan, where 70 % of population is Muslim but where Judaism, Buddhism and Shamanism are present.

 

Visit by the Pope John Paul II held on September 22 — 25, 2001 had a great significance for the Catholic Church in Kazakhstan. The Pope spoke about “love civilization”. Therefore historical visit by John Paul II way more explicitly expressed to the Catholics the necessity of a dialogue with non-Christian religions and cultures, both with Muslims and with ethnic Kazakh culture in general (the Pope cited twice the great Kazakh poet Abay and Ahmed Yassawi – the great Sufi visionary).

Therefore the Catholic Church in Kazakhstan tends to create spiritual agreement and to protect the universal spiritual values, which has been highly appreciated by the President Nazarbayev a number of time. In this context the Catholic Church dispraises murders in the name of God, violation of freedom of conscience and confession, moreover – religious extremism, violence, religious proselytism and terrorism.

 

Brief historical information[1]

 

The Origins of the Christian Presence in Central Asia

The Catholic Church has deep roots in Kazakhstan. Some historians say that as early as the second century AD in the town of Merv, today known as Mary, (on the Uzbekistan border in southern Kazakhstan) there were Christians among Roman soldiers taken prisoners after a battle they lost against the Persians. A bishop’s see existed there in the year 334. In the same place, at the end of the fourth and the beginning of the fifth centuries, there was a Melkite monastery.

 

In the south there were also Nestorian communities. Until the 13th century, under the rule of a Nestorian Patriarch, there were 25 metropolitan sees and about 150 bishops. One of these metropolitan sees was at Marcanda (Samarkand), the ancient capital of Sogdiana, a famous historical and cultural region of Central Asia. In the second half of the seventh century, Metropolitan Ilia of Merv probably took part in the conversion of the Turks. The conversion of the Kagan of the Turks is attributed to this Bishop.

 

In the seventh and eighth centuries, Nestorian Christianity spread through southern Kazakhstan and Semiretchinsk (Turkmenistan) and later in the ninth and tenth centuries led to the founding of the Metropolitan See of Karluki. Christian churches still exist in Taraz and Mirke. In Taraz today there are still Christian families of Syrian origin (easily recognized by their dark skin) who claim that their ancestors went there to escape persecutions, the memory of which has been lost in time. In the year 1009, Nestorian missionaries baptized one of the numerous groups of Mongol speaking ethnic Kereiti whose Khan took the Christian name Mark, Marguz. In the same period the Nestorian tendency spread among other peoples of Central Asia, and the Metropolitan Sees of Kachgar (Xinjiang, China) and Navakheta were established. Nestorian Christianity was popular at court. In the family of the Mongol emperors, many noble women at court were Christians and important Uighur and Kereiti ministers were often Nestorians. In the seventh century, Nestorian monks went as far as Changan (today Xian) to the court of the Chinese Emperor Tang. During the reign of the Grand Khan Kubilai (1260-1295), the Venetian merchants, Mafeo and Marco Polo, discovered more than 700,000 Chinese families who called themselves Christians and they were probably one of the surviving branches of Nestorian Christians or Manichaean Christians (of Persian origin, found until the 17th century in the Fujian province of China).

 

The appearance of mendicant monastic Orders marks the beginning of Catholic missions to the Far East. One example of missionary activity was the journey undertaken by Flemish Franciscan William of Rubroeck (1253-1255), who traveled 9,940 miles in two years, from Constantinople to Karakorum, capital of the steppe land empire. Most of the territory covered by Rubroeck was in present day Kazakhstan. At the end of his journey, Rubroeck met the Great Khan Munke (who later became a Christian). The Franciscan sought to illuminate Khan Sartac, the son of Batu-Khan, grandchild of Genghis Khan. Towards the middle of 1254, Khan Sartac converted to Christianity and Pope Innocent IV was informed.

 

First ecclesiastical structures in Central Asia

In the year 1278 the Holy See attempted to organize ecclesiastical structures in the territory of Kazakhstan and in Central Asia. Because of the countless conversions made by the Franciscans, Pope Nicholas III established the Diocese of Kipciak. Franciscans in the territory of Kipciak received special privileges, probably from Khan Monke-Timur (1267-1280), which were renewed by later Khans: for example all Latin clergy were exempt from military service, corve, (unpaid labour) and tax. This all corresponded to the general legislation promulgated earlier by Genghis Khan. The Khan were obliged to protect Catholic churches and bell towers. The legislation mentioned above established a stable and ordered situation for missionaries throughout the empire.  One of the greatest missionary-diplomats of the 13th and 14th centuries was the Italian, Giovanni da Montecorvino (1247-1328 or 1333). Sent to Asia by Pope Nicholas IV in 1289 like other Franciscans including Arnold of Cologne and Odorico of Pordenone, Friar Giovanni reached Kamablik in 1294, where he soon won the esteem of the Khan who ruled the region of Tenduk (part of Mongolia and what is today Manchuria, north of Beijing). The Khan had already been baptized by the Nestorians with the Christian name of George, Kirghis in Kurkic. The name of this Khan was later given to ethnic groups known as the Kirghiz, literally people of St. George. Under the influence of Montecorvino, Khan Kirghiz became a member of the Catholic Church and even received Minor Orders from the Franciscan. It is said that the Khan himself served Giovanni at the altar during Mass.

 

In a letter to Nicholas IV in 1306, Montecorvino asked the Pope for more missionaries. But a group of Dominicans only reached as far as Kiptchak. In 1307 Pope Clement V appointed Montecorvino as Archbishop in the city of Kambalik and Patriarch of the Far East. He then called seven Franciscans for mission in China. They were ordained bishops and were instructed to ordain Montecorvino Archbishop of Kambalik on their arrival. Six of them set out on the journey but three soon died shortly after. One of the remaining three, Gerard Albuni, stopped at Zayton or Kaitong a port on the Fu-jian river, today Quangzhou, to tend to the many Catholics there. The other two, one of whom was Bishop Andrea of Perugia, continue the journey. In 1311 they reached Peking and at last Archbishop Giovanni Montecorvino received Episcopal ordination. It was Pope John XXII who created the Archdiocese of Kambalik (Beijing) in 1318. The missionary activity of Montecorvino, he had the Bible translated into Mongolian, let to hundreds of thousands of conversions. Dioceses were established at Almalik and Urghenc. Altogether, 31 missionary dioceses were set up in the Far East. After the deaths of Giovanni da Montecorvino and the Khan the situation became complicated. Using religion to forge political alliances, the Khan converted to Islam and persecution of the Christians began. Among those killed at Almalik were Richard of Bourgogne, six monks (three priests and three brothers) and an Italian merchant, Guglielmo da Modena.

For the next 600 years, Kazakhstan was without a Catholic bishop until 1991, when by Pope John Paul II appointed Jan Pavel Lenga Apostolic Administrator of Karaganda, Kazakhstan.

 

Catholic Church at Russian Empire times and during Soviet Period

History of the Catholic Church in Kazakhstan continued at Russian Empire times. In the second half of XIX century — beginning of XX century a part of military men at the tsar’s army in service in the territory of the modern Kazakhstan, exiles, freewill migrants, prisoners of war and refugees who turned out in Kazakhstan, were Catholics. Amongst them the Poles, the Lithuanians, the Czechs, the Germans, the French, the Latvians, the Hungarians, the Austrians and other peoples.

After October Revolution in 1917 the Catholic Church, in line with other religions, experienced the most cruel persecution. Catholic ecclesiastic administrative structures have been completely liquidated in USSR. Also Catholic hierarchy, both of Latin and Byzantine rites, has been eliminated. Priests who survived have been imprisoned and exiled.

Stalin’s repressions caused imprisonment of a large number of Catholics, mostly ethnic Germans, Ukrainians, and Poles and deportation to Kazakhstan; most of them passed away. Two Greek Catholic priestly martyrs, Bishop Nikita Budka and Priest Alexey Zaritsky have been beatified and are currently reverences as saint patron of the country.

Many of the priests, who have completed their sentence in lagers, stayed in Kazakhstan after their release to serve for the local Catholics. For instance, Father Alexander Staub (before his decease in 1961),  Father Mikhail Stonets, and other Catholic priests, but first of all Father Władysław Bukowiński (before his decease in 1974), who was beatified on September 11th, 2016 in Karaganda, where his relics are stored in the crypt of the Cathedral of Our Lady of Fatima (this Cathedral is reckoned as the most beautiful one in the Central Asia), – served at those times in Karaganda. That was the first beatification in the Roman Catholic Church in Kazakhstan.

 

The Church today

 

With the fall of communism in 1991, the Catholic community fully came back out into the open. In 1991, Pope John Paul II established an Apostolic Administration that covered all of Central Asia. Diplomatic relations between the Holy See and Kazakhstan were established in 1994. In 1997, the other four countries of the region, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan all became independent missions, so the Apostolic Administration became for all of Kazakhstan and was based in Karaganda. In 1999, the Apostolic Administration ]was split in four; three new Apostolic Administrations were created, based in Almaty, Astana, and Atyrau, and a diocese was created in Karaganda.

Pope John Paul II became the first Pope to visit Kazakhstan in the country’s history in 2001. In 2003, John Paul II elevated Astana to an archdiocese and Almaty to a diocese. In 2006, Catholic priests were ordained for the first time ever in the country.

Administrative center of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Apostolic Delegation in Kazakhstan and in Central Asia is located in Karaganda. On November 8th,  2002, the Holy See nominated the priest Vasiliy Govera, the rector of the Greek Catholic Parish in Karaganda, as the Apostolic Delegate for all Eastern-rite Catholics in Kazakhstan and in Central Asia. Totally 5 Greek Catholic parishes function  in Kazakhstan: in Karaganda, in Astana, in Pavlodar, in Shiderty, and in Satpayev.

Today the President of the Episcopal Conference in Kazakhstan, which embrace all the Catholic Bishops on the territory, is Msgr. José Luis Mumbiela Sierra, Bishop of Most Holy Trinity in Almaty. He was elected in 2015.

Agreement between Kazakhstan and Vatican

One of the most important achievements by Vatican diplomacy in the Republic of Kazakhstan is certainly the fact that the Catholic Church, by means of negotiations, has compelled the concordat – the agreement between the Apostolic See and the Republic of Kazakhstan. This concordat was signed on May 10th, 1999 by the Secretary of State of the Holy See, Cardinal Angelo Sodano, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Kassym Zhomart Tokayev. On May 19th, 1999 the agreement was approved with the Decree of the President of Kazakhstan, No.141. It was promulgated and came into effect in the Republic of Kazakhstan on July 30th, 1999. After numerous controversies regarding validity of its ratification, the Government of Kazakhstan, by means of the Resolution as of August 29th, 2012, offered forward a proposal of the project of ratification of the said Agreement at the meeting of the The Mazhilis of The Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The Agreement was ratified by The Parliament and the President of Kazakhstan signed it on October 18th. 2012. This was a significant event for the Catholic Church in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

The Procedure of ratification of the concordat is as important as per the Law on Religious Practices and Religious Associations, art. 2 p. 2, the ratified international agreements have a higher rank than the law on ratification itself. In this way, no additional registration was required from religious organizations after the new law came into effect on October 11th, 2011.

The decisions of the concordat have the key value for the practices of the Catholic Church in the Republic of Kazakhstan. The art. 2 rules that the right for stay and practice is granted to the expatriate missionaries nominated for ministration: “The competent bodies of the Republic of Kazakhstan shall grant the permit for stay to the expatriate members of the Catholic Church, nominated for ministration in individual churches or to other institutions of the Catholic Church in the territory of Kazakhstan, for the total period of their nomination, according to the effective law”. (cit.) Art. 3 recognizes the possibility of having a status of a legal entity for the organizations, which have the status of legal entities in the framework of the ecclesiastic legislation. Ecclesiastical seminary is mentioned also amongst these organizations. Art. 7 and 8 specify catholic schools in Kazakhstan. The law limits establishment of schools of general education for the confessional association; the agreement accepts establishment of ‘registered catholic schools’ with all benefits of general education in Kazakhstan, relative to school and college students.

Beyond all doubt, the Agreement between Kazakhstan and the Apostolic See puts the Catholic Church in the Republic of Kazakhstan to a position of privilege compared to the other confessional associations. All faithful Catholics, and especially the priesthood, can feel protected to some extent, by this agreement.

The Apostolic Nunciature also has a great significance in reciprocal contacts. By virtue of presence of a representative of the Apostolic See in the Republic of Kazakhstan, the way of communication at a high diplomatic level is open today.

 

Ecclesiastical Seminary

October 7th,  1997 is the date of official establishment of the Catholic Ecclesiastical Seminary Redemptoris Mater in Karaganda, which was completely reorganized on July 16th,  1998 and has received a new name “Mary, Mother of the Church”.

The seminary in Karaganda is the only one in Kazakhstan, both inter-diocesan and international, since seminarians from Georgia and Armenia study here.

 

Caritas

Nationwide fund “Caritas” also functions in Kazakhstan.

“Caritas”, as translated from Latin, means “merciful love”. The first organization of Caritas was founded in Germany in 1897. “Caritas” is the international Catholic charity organization, which renders support to development, social work and help to people in solution of their vital problems: food, clothes and medical service. Their employees and volunteers help people in critical situations and incidents. As of today, “Caritas”, in terms of the amount of help rendered, is one of the largest charity organizations in the world.

КАТОЛИЧЕСКАЯ ЦЕРКОВЬ В КАЗАХСТАНЕ

Католическая Церковь в Казахстане является частью всемирной Католической Церкви, под духовным руководством Папы Римского. Число католиков в стране составляет, по данным справочника «Понтификальный Ежегодник» (Annuario Pontificio) за 2016 г., около 108 500 тысяч человек, что составляет примерно 0,61 % всего населения. Кроме католиков латинского обряда в стране существует греко-католическая община (состоящая, главным образом, из людей украинской национальности).

В Казахстане приблизительно 26% христиан (в основном,  русских православных) из населения общей численностью 18 миллионов. Большинство католиков в стране – польского, немецкого и литовского происхождения (есть также другие национальности, часто смешанные между собой, что типично для Казахстана). Среди католиков также встречаются русские, украинцы, а также корейцы и казахи, а также представители других наций.

Население католиков сократилось после падения коммунизма, поскольку многие верующие немецкого происхождения эмигрировали в Германию. Также поляки и другие национальности эмигрировали на свою историческую родину.

Католическая Церковь в мире

Католицизм является самым крупным направлением в христианстве, крупнейшим по численности приверженцев (около 1 миллиарда 229 миллионов человек по состоянию на конец 2012 года) направлением в христианстве, формировавшимся на протяжении I тысячелетия н.э. на территории Западной Римской Империи.

Наибольшее распространение он получил в Европе (Испания, Франция, Италия, Португалия, Австрия, Бельгия, Польша, Чехия, Венгрия), в Латинской Америке и США. В той или иной степени, католицизм распространен почти во всех странах земного шара.

Большинство католиков всего мира принадлежат к латинскому обряду. Кроме того, в Католическую Церковь входят Восточные Католические Церкви, имеющие статус Церквей с собственным каноническим правом (sui iuris). Они принадлежат к одной из пяти обрядовых традиций: александрийской, антиохийской, византийской, халдейской и армянской (внутри которых также существуют отдельные обряды — всего около 20). Эти Церкви имеют особое каноническое право, собственную иерархическую структуру во главе с патриархом или верховным архиепископом, но при этом находятся в общении с Папой Римским и организационно ему подчинены.

Католическая Церковь формировалась на протяжении I тысячелетия н. э. на территории Западной Римской Империи и играла важную роль в истории Западной цивилизации.

Духовность и культура в Католицизме

Католицизм имел доминирующее влияние на Западную цивилизацию с поздней античности до начала Нового времени. Благодаря поддержке Католической Церкви возникли романский, готический, ренессансный, маньеристский и барочные стили в искусстве, архитектуре и музыке.

Многие деятели Возрождения, такие, как, к примеру, Рафаэль Санти, Микеланджело, Леонардо да Винчи, Сандро Боттичелли, Фра Беато Анджелико, Тинторетто, Тициан, Джотто пользовались поддержкой Католической Церкви.

Среди поэтов и писателей, связанных с католицизмом, следует выделить Данте Алигьери, Франческо Петрарка, Блеза Паскаля, Поля Клоделя, Франсуа Мориака, Жоржа Бернаноса, Гилберта Кита Честертона.

На развитие Западной цивилизации оказали огромное влияние такие католические философы и богословы, как Фома Аквинский, Майстер Экхарт, Иоанн Дунс Скотт, Уильям Оккам, Бонавентура, Франсиско Суарес, Эдит Штайн, Габриель Марсель, Кароль Войтыла, Г. У. фон Бальтазар, Карл Ранер, Йозеф Ратцингер и другие.

Для Католической Церкви характерно огромное разнообразие типов духовности. Выбор того или иного из них зависит от культурно-исторических условий и индивидуальных склонностей верующего. Многие из этих типов духовности были разработаны внутри тех или иных институтов посвященной Богу жизни и обществ апостольской жизни, а также католических движений.

Открытость на мир после II Ватиканского Собора

Последний Собор — Второй Ватиканский (1962-1965 гг.) — имел не догматический, а пастырский характер. После этого Собора католицизм стал более открыт по отношению к другим христианским вероисповеданиям, особенно, Православию, с которыми он ведёт так называемый экуменический диалог. Официально ведётся межрелигиозный диалог с великими традиционными религиями мира, такими, как иудаизм и ислам, а также с буддизмом, индуизмом и другими.

Католическая Церковь открыта науке и общественной культуре, открыта всякому межрелигиозному и межкультурному диалогу. Он особенно необходим в Казахстане, где 70 % населения – мусульмане, но где есть и иудаизм, буддизм и шаманизм.

Большое значение для Католической Церкви в Казахстане имел визит в страну Папы Иоанна Павла II, состоявшийся 22 — 25 сентября 2001 года. Папа говорил о «цивилизации любви». Поэтому исторический визит Иоанна Павла II еще более показал католикам необходимость диалога с нехристианскими религиями и культурой, при этом не только с мусульманами, но с казахской культурой вообще (Папа дважды цитировал величайшего казахского поэта Абая и Ахмеда Яссави, великого суфийского мистика).

Поэтому в Казахстане Католическая Церковь стремится созидать духовное согласие и защищать универсальные духовные ценности, чему не раз давал высокую оценку президент Назарбаев. В этом контексте Католическая Церковь осуждает убийства во имя Бога, нарушение свободы совести и вероисповедания, а тем более – религиозный экстремизм, насилие, религиозный прозелитизм и терроризм.

Краткая историческая справка[1]

Возникновение христианства в Центральной Азии

Католическая Церковь в Казахстане имеет глубокие корни. Некоторые историки утверждают, что не позднее, чем во втором веке н.э. в городе Мерв, ныне известном как Мары (на границе с Узбекистаном в Южном Казахстане), были христиане среди римских солдат, взятых в плен после битвы, проигранной ими персам. Епископский престол существовал там с 334 г. В той же местности, в конце четвертого – начале пятого веков существовал мелькитский монастырь.

На юге существовали также несторианские общины. До 13-го века, под руководством несторианского Патриарха, было 25 митрополитских престолов и около 150 епископов. Одним из этих митрополитских престолов был в Мараканде (Самарканде), античной столице Согдианы, известного исторически-культурного региона Центральной Азии. Во второй половине седьмого века, Митрополит Мерва Илия вероятно принимал участие в обращение тюрков. Обращение Тюркского Кагана приписывается этому Епископу.

В седьмом и восьмом веках несторианское христианство распространяется через южный Казахстан и Семиреченск (Туркменистан), а позднее, в девятом и десятом веках был основан Митрополитский Престол карлуков. Христианские церкви все еще существуют в Таразе и Мерке. В Таразе сегодня еще есть христианские семьи сирийского происхождения (легко узнаваемых по их смуглой коже), заявляющих, что их предки прибыли туда в бегстве от преследований, свидетельство о которых было потеряно со временем. В 1009 г., несторианские миссионеры крестили одну из многочисленных групп монголоязычных кереитов, чей хан принял христианское имя Марк, Маргуз. В том же периоде “несторианская” тенденция распространилась среди других народов Центральной Азии, и были основаны Митрополитские Престолы Кашгара (Синьцзян, Китай) и Навакета. Несторианское христианство было популярно при дворе. В семье монгольских императоров, многие придворные дамы были христианками, а знатные уйгурские и кереитские министры нередко были  несторианцами. В седьмом веке несторианские монахи ушли в Чанъань (ныне Сиань) при дворе китайского Императора династии Тан. Во времена правления Великого Хана Хубилая (1260-1295 гг.) венецианские торговцы, Маффео и Марко Поло нашли более 700,000 китайских семей, называвших себя христианами, оказавшихся,  вероятно, одной из сохранившихся веток несторианских или  манихейских христиан (персидского происхождения, обнаруженных до 17-го века в китайской провинции Фуцзянь).

Появление орденов нищенствующего монашества знаменует начало католических миссий на Дальнем Востоке. Одним из примеров миссионерской деятельности стало путешествие, совершенное фламандским монахом-францисканцем Гильомом де Рубруком (1253-1255 гг.), преодолевшим 9,940 миль за два года, от Константинополя до Каракорума, столицы империи степной. Большая часть территории, охваченной Рубруком, находилась в нынешнем Казахстане. В конце этого путешествия Рубрук встретился с Великим Ханом Мунке  (ставшего позднее христианином). Францисканцы пытались осветить Хана Сартака, сына Батый-Хана, внука Чингиз-Хана. Ближе к середине 1254 г., Хан Сартак принял христианство, и об этом известили Папу  Иннокентия.

Первые церковные структуры в Центральной Азии

В 1278 году Святой Престол попытался организовать церковные структуры на территории Казахстана и Центральной Азии. Благодаря бесчисленным обращениям, совершенным францисканцами, Папа Николай III основал Кипчакскую Епархию. Францисканцы на территории Кипчака получили особые привилегии, возможно от Хана Менгу-Тимура (1267-1280 гг.), обновленные ханами, правящими после него: к примеру, все  латинское духовенство было освобождено от военной службы, работы на руднике (неоплачиваемой работы) и от налогов. Все это соответствовало законодательству общего характера, обнародованному ранее Чингиз Ханом. Хан был обязан защищать католические церкви и колокольные башни. Законодательство предусматривало по выше сказанному стабильную и урегулированную ситуацию для миссионеров в империи. Одним из величайших миссионеров-дипломатов 13-го и 14-го веков был итальянец, Джованни да Монтекорвино (1247-1328 гг. или 1333 г.). Отправленный в Азию Папой Николаем IV в 1289 г., наряду с другими францисканцами, включая Арнольда Кельнского и Одорико Порденоне, монах Джованни прибыл в Камбалык в 1294 г., где вскоре он завоевал расположение Хана, правящего регионом Тендук (часть Монголии, ныне Маньчжурия, север Пекина). Хан уже был крещен несторианцами христианским именем Георгий, киргизами в Куркиче. Имем этого Хана были позднее названы этнические группы, известные как киргизы, буквально – народ Святого Георгия. Под ылиянием Монтекорвино, Хан Киргиз стал членом католической церкви и даже получил орден малых братьев от францисканцев. Считается, что Хан сам прислуживал Джованни на алтаре во время Святой Мессы.

В письме Николаю IV в 1306 г., Монтекорвино просит у Папы болье миссионеров. Но группа доминиканцев только дошла до Кипчака. В 1307 г. Папа Клементий V назначил Монтекорвино Архиепископом в городе Камбалык и Патриархом  Дальнего Востока. Позднее он призвал семерых францисканцев для миссии в Китае. Они были рукоположенными епископами и получили наставление рукоположить Монтекорвино, Архиепископа Камбалыкского, по их прибытию. Шестеро из них отправились в путь, но трое скончались вскоре после его начала. Один из троих  оставшихся, Герард Альбуни, остановился в Зайтоне или Кайтонге, в порту на реке Фуцзянь, ныне Гуанчжоу, чтобы оказать заботу многим местным католикам. Двое остальных, одним из которых был Епископ Андреа из Перуджи, продолжили путь. В 1311 году они дошли до Пекина, и наконец, Архиепископ Джованни Монтекорвино принял епископское рукоположение. Основателем Митрополии в Камбалыке (Пекин) в  1318 г. Стал Папа Иоанн XXII. В качестве миссионерской деятельности Монтекорвино, он перевел Библию на монгольский язык, совершил сотни тысяч обращений. Епархии были основаны в Алмалыке и Ургенче. Всего было основано 31 миссионерская епархия на Дальнем Востоке. После смерти Джованни Монтекорвино и Хана ситуация осложнилась. Используя религию для укрепления политических союзов, Хан принял ислам, и начались преследования христиан. Среди убитых в Алмалыке были Ричард  Бургундский, шесть монахов (три священника и три брата) и итальянский торговец, Гуильермо Моденский.

На протяжении следующих 600 лет, в Казахстане не было католического епископа до 1991 г., когда Папа Иоанн Павел II назначил Яна Павла Ленга Апостольским Администратором в Караганде, Казахстан.

Католическая Церковь во времена Российской Империи и в советский период

История Католической Церкви в Казахстане продолжилась во времена Российской Империи. Во второй половине XIX в. — начале XX в. католиками была часть военнослужащих царской армии, проходивших военную службу на территории современного Казахстана, ссыльных, добровольных переселенцев, военнопленных и беженцев, оказавшихся в Казахстане. Среди них были поляки, литовцы, чехи, немцы, французы, латыши, венгры, австрийцы и другие народы.

После Октябрьской революции 1917 года Католическая Церковь, наряду с другими религиями, испытала жесточайшие преследования. В СССР происходит практически полное уничтожение католических церковно-административных структур. Происходит также уничтожение католической иерархии как латинского, так и византийского обрядов. Оставшиеся в живых священники отправлялись в лагеря и ссылки.

Сталинские репрессии привели к тому, что большое число католиков, главным образом, немцев, украинцев и поляков по национальности, оказалось в Казахстане в ссылках и лагерях, многие из них погибли. Два  греко-католических священномученикаепископ Никита Будка и священник Алексей Зарицкий, были причислены к лику блаженных и в настоящее время почитаются как одни из святых покровителей страны.

Многие из священников, которые отбыли наказание в лагерях, после выхода на свободу остались в Казахстане служить местным католикам. Например в г. Караганде в это время служили: о. Александр Штауб (до смерти в 1961 году), о. Михаил Стонец (Стонес) и другие католические священники, но прежде всего о. Владислав Буковинский (до смерти в 1974 году), который был провозглашен блаженным 11 сентября 2016 года в Караганде, где хранятся его реликвии – в крипте Собора Пресвятой Девы Марии Фатимской – Матери всех народов (этот Собор считается самым красивым во всей Средней Азии). Это была первая беатификация в Римско-католической Церкви в Казахстане.

 

Церковь сегодня

С падением коммунизма в 1991 году, католическая община вновь стала полностью открытой. В 1991 г., Папа Иоанн Павел II основал Апостольскую Администратуру,  охватывавшую всю Центральную Азию. Дипломатические отношения между Святым Престолом и Казахстаном зародились в 1994 г. В 1997 г., еще четыре страны в регионе, — Кыргызстан, Таджикистан, Туркменистан и Узбекистан – все стали независимыми миссиями, и таким образом, Апостольская Администратура стала всеказахстанской с местоположением в г. Караганде. В 1999 г, Апостольская Администратура была разделена на четыре части; были образованы три новые Апостольские Администратуры — в Алматы, в Астане и в Атырау, а епархия была основана в Караганде.

Папа Иоанн Павел II стал первым Папой в истории страны, посетившим Казахстан в 2001 году. В 2003 году, Иоанн Павел II повысил Астанайскую администратуру до митрополии, а алматинскую – до епархии. В 2006 г., впервые в стране католическим священникам было совершено рукоположение.

В Караганде находится административный центр Украинской греко-католической Апостольской Делегатуры в Казахстане и Средней Азии8 ноября 2002 года Святой Престол назначил настоятеля грек-католического прихода в г. Караганде, священника Василия Говеру, Апостольским делегатом для всех католиков восточного обряда в Казахстане и Средней Азии. Всего в Казахстане действуют 5 греко-католических приходов: в Караганде, в Астане, в Павлодаре, в Шидерты и в Сатпаеве.

Сегодня Президентом Епископской Конференции в Казахстане, охватившей всех католических епископов на территории, является Монсеньор Хосе Луис Мумбиела Сьерра, Епископ Епархии Пресвятой Троицы в Алматы. Он был избран в 2015 г.

Соглашение Казахстана с Ватиканом

Одно из важнейших достижений Ватиканской дипломатии в Республике Казахстан является, несомненно, то, что Католическая Церковь путем переговоров добилась «конкордата» — соглашения между Апостольским Престолом и Республикой Казахстан. Данный конкордат был подписан 10 мая 1999 г. государственным секретарем Святого Престола кардиналом Анджело Содано и министром иностранных дел Казахстана Касым Жомартом Токаевым. 19 мая 1999 г. соглашение было утверждено приказом президента РК, за № 141. Было оно обнародовано и вступило в действие в Республике Казахстан, 30 июля 1999 г. После многочисленных разногласий, касающихся действительности его ратификации, правительство РК, постановлением от 29 августа 2012 г., внесло предложение проекта ратификации «Соглашения» на заседание Мажилиса Парламента РК. Соглашение было ратифицировано парламентом, а президент РК подписал его 18 октября 2012 г. Это значимое событие для Католической Церкви в Республике Казахстан.

Процедура ратификации конкордата настолько важная, что, согласно закону «О религиозной деятельности и религиозных объединениях», арт. 2 п. 2, ратифицированные международные соглашения обладают высшим рангом, чем этот же закон ратификации. Благодаря этому, не была востребована от церковных организаций повторная перерегистрация, после введения нового закона с 11 октября 2011 г.

Решения конкордата имеют ключевое значение для деятельности Католической Церкви в Республике Казахстан. В арт. 2 постановляется, что дается право на пребывание и деятельность назначенным на душепастырское служение миссионерам иностранцам: «Компетентные органы Республики Казахстан будут предоставлять разрешение на пребывание членам Католической Церкви из-за рубежа, назначенным на службу в отдельные церкви или иные учреждения Католической Церкви на территории Казахстана, на весь период их назначения, в соответствии с действующим законодательством». Арт. 3 признает возможность иметь статус юридического лица тем организациям, которые обладают статусом юридического лица в русле церковного законодательства. Среди этих организаций называется также и духовная семинария. Арт. 7 и 8 говорят о католических школах в РК. Учреждать конфессиональными союзами общеобразовательные школы законом ограничено, соглашение признаёт образование «зарегистрированных католических школ», со всеми общеобразовательными льготами в РК, по отношению к школьникам и студентам.

Вне всякого сомнения, Соглашение между Казахстаном и Апостольским Престолом ставит Католическую Церковь в Республике Казахстан в позиции, привилегированной по сравнению с другими конфессиональными союзами. Все верующие католики, и особенно духовенство, могут чувствовать себя в какой-то мере защищенными данным соглашением.

Большое значение во взаимных контактах, имеет также существование Апостольской Нунциатуры. Благодаря присутствию представителя Апостольского Престола в Республике Казахстане открыт путь общения на высоком, дипломатическом уровне.

Духовная семинария

7 октября 1997 года — Официальное основание в г. Караганде католической духовной семинарии «Redemptoris Mater», которая 16 июля 1998 года была полностью реорганизована и получила новое название «Мария — Матерь Церкви».

Семинария в Караганде – единственная в Казахстане – не только межъепархиальная, но и международная, так как в ней обучаются также семинаристы из Грузии и Армении.

Caritas

Также в Казахстане действует общенациональный фонд «Каритас».

«Каритас» в переводе с латинского означает «милосердная любовь». Первая организация «Каритас» основана в Германии в 1897 году. «Каритас» – это международная католическая благотворительная организация, которая занимается поддержкой развития, социальной работой и оказанием помощи людям в решении их важнейших проблем: питания, одежды и медицинских  услуг. Ее сотрудники и добровольцы помогают людям в кризисных ситуациях и несчастных случаях. На сегодняшний день по объему оказываемой помощи «Каритас» является одной из самых больших благотворительных организаций мира.